Holiday shipping: order by 20 December for guaranteed delivery by Christmas. Returns are extended until 10 January.

 

A text by Jean Touitou

     INTRODUCTION

To finance the early days of A.P.C. – and considering that I distrusted bankers but also had no personal fortune – I worked as a “ghost designer” for several brands. One was based in London, another in Toronto and a third in Paris. This last brand had major experience in denim. One day, I asked the boss of this brand for some advice about making a great pair of blue jeans and I was given a bolt of Japanese denim, which was not very wide.
        I received just one indication: connect the two exterior edges with the red trim (two sketches are included to explain these seemingly mysterious yet actually very simple things). So, I sketched my design, had a pattern made and then cut and produced our first pair of jeans in the workshop of the neighborhood seamstress, who was thrilled to participate in such an adventure. However, I didn’t know – and therefore didn’t follow – a certain number of rules and codes that obsess denimheads, afficionados, nerds, specialists and all guardians of the temple. For example, the rule about cutting the waistband on the bias: since I wasn’t aware of this, I cut it straight along the grain and it’s been like that ever since. 


     THE POSITIONING OF THE PATTERN ON THE FABRIC

This is a simple matter of construction: connecting the two edges of fabric on the outer side of the legs keeps the jean legs straight (and prevents them from twisting). I know it’s a little abstract when it’s not your job, so here are some additional explanations in the form of sketches.

        
 
Left: Sketch by Shinya Hirota from the A.P.C. studio
Right: Sketch by Jean Touitou

     NO-SELVAGE (US: selvage, UK: selvedge)

Defining jeans as “selvage” is as ridiculous as describing water as wet. In French, “selvage” means the edge, yet all fabric has two edges. Without selvage/edges, a fabric would not be usable, as it would become unwoven. But let’s be good sports: this term is now commonplace and I’m not going to revolt against a term that is rather practical. When it comes down to it, it’s easier to use the word “selvage” than to say: “jeans designed from a fabric with a red trim whose outer sides were cut along the edges.
       You have to be able to accept approximations. For example, what people commonly call Rn
B in popular music has little to do with rhythm and even less with blues.

     THE FABRICS

When I received this famous first bolt of fabric with its narrow width, I tried to find out where it came from. I was given the name of a weaver based somewhere near Hiroshima. I contacted him and, because he already knew my work thanks to the success of our first shop in Tokyo, he offered me a different version of this fabric, which would be exclusive to A.P.C. I accepted his offer. This fabric has a secret that only he and I know and that neither of us have ever shared with anyone else. More than 35 years later and without signing a contract, the weaver has kept our recipe and has always refused to sell “our” fabric to other brands.

 

Returns and exchanges always free

Newsletter: new collection, collaborations, events, sales. Stay in touch with A.P.C.

* Required Fields

All information concerning you collected via this are processed under the responsibility of ATELIER DE PRODUCTION ET DE CREATION “A.P.C.”, a simplified joint stock company, registered under n° 334 140 167 on the Paris Trade Register, and having its registered office at 39 RUE MADAME, 75006, PARIS.

You agree that the data collected via the above form may be used for the purpose of sending you A.P.C. marketing communications.
Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required information. Should you fail to give required information, we are unable to receive our marketing communications.
You have a right of access, rectification, erasure and limitation with regard to processing of your personal data as well as the right to define guidelines regarding what happens to your data after your death and the right of portability of your personal data.
You may also object to the use of data concerning you and withdraw your consent at any time by addressing your request to privacy@apc.fr.
Complaints may be lodged with the competent supervisory authority, the CNIL in France.

For further details, please consult our Privacy Policy.

Delivery country: to offer you the best experience on our site, can you confirm or modify your delivery country

* Required Fields

  • Secure payment
  • Free delivery from €80
  • Returns and exchanges always free

Soldes : nouvelles remises jusqu'à -50% sur la collection Automne/Hiver 2022.

 

Un texte de Jean Touitou

     INTRODUCTION

Pour financer les débuts d’A.P.C. et considérant que je me méfiais des banquiers mais aussi que je n’avais pas de fortune personnelle, j’ai été « ghost designer » pour plusieurs marques. L’une était basée à Londres, l’autre à Toronto et la troisième à Paris. Cette dernière avait une très grosse expérience dans le domaine du denim. Et comme je demandais un jour des conseils au patron de cette marque pour faire un beau blue jean, il m’a été offert un rouleau de denim japonais en petite largeur.
       On m’a juste donné une indication : relier les deux côtés extérieurs par la lisière rouge (deux dessins sont là pour expliquer ces choses un peu mystérieuses mais finalement très simples). J’ai donc dessiné, fait patronner, puis coupé et fabriqué notre premier jean dans l’atelier d’une couturière de quartier, trop ravie de participer à une telle aventure. Mais j’ignorais, et je n’ai donc pas respecté, un certain nombre de règles et de codes qui obsèdent les « jeaneurs », les afficionados, les nerds, les spécialistes et tous les gardiens du temple. Par exemple celle qui veut que l’on coupe la ceinture dans le biais : ne le sachant pas, je l’ai faite dans le droit fil et c’est resté comme ça.

     LE POSITIONNEMENT DU PATRONAGE SUR LE TISSU

C’est une simple question de construction : en reliant les deux lisières du tissu sur le côté extérieur des jambes, on permet à celles-ci de rester droites (et de ne pas vriller). Je sais, c’est un peu abstrait quand on n’est pas de la partie, voici donc quelques explications complémentaires en dessins.

        
 

À gauche : dessin de Shinya Hirota du studio A.P.C.
À droite : dessin de Jean Touitou

     LE « NON SELVAGE » (en anglais selvage, en américain selvedge)

Définir un jean comme « selvage » est aussi aberrant que qualifier l’eau de mouillée. En français, selvage signifie lisière, or tout tissu possède deux lisières. Sans selvage/lisière, un tissu ne serait pas utilisable tout simplement parce qu’il se dé-tisserait. Mais soyons bon joueur : ce terme est passé dans l’usage courant et je ne vais pas me révolter contre cette appellation finalement assez pratique. Il est en effet plus simple d’employer le mot « selvage » que l’expression « jean taillé dans un tissu à lisière rouge dont les côtés extérieurs ont été coupés au bord des lisières ».
       Il faut savoir accepter les approximations – par exemple ce qu’on appelle communément le RnB en musique populaire a peu à voir avec le rythme et encore moins avec le blues.

     LES TISSUS

Quand ce fameux premier rouleau de tissu en petite largeur m’a été donné, j’ai cherché à savoir d’où il venait. On m’a donné un nom de tisseur installé dans les environs d’Hiroshima. Je l’ai contacté et comme il connaissait déjà mon travail grâce au succès de notre première boutique à Tokyo, il m’a proposé une version différente de ce tissu qui serait exclusif à A.P.C. J’ai accepté. Ce tissu possède un secret que seuls lui et moi connaissons et que nous n’avons jamais, ni l’un ni l’autre, divulgué. Plus de trente-cinq ans après et sans que jamais un contrat ait été signé, le tisseur a gardé notre recette et a toujours refusé de vendre « notre » tissu à d’autres marques.

 

Retours et échanges toujours gratuits

Newsletter : nouvelles collections, collaborations, événements, soldes. Suivez A.P.C. de près.

* Champs obligatoires

Les informations vous concernant recueillies sur ce formulaire font l’objet d’un traitement opéré sous la responsabilité de la société ATELIER DE PRODUCTION ET DE CREATION « A.P.C. », société par actions simplifiée, immatriculée au Registre du Commerce et des Sociétés de Paris sous le numéro 334 140 167 et ayant son siège social au 39 RUE MADAME 75006 PARIS.

Vous acceptez que les données collectées dans le cadre du formulaire ci-avant soient utilisées afin de vous envoyer des communications commerciales.
Les champs identifiés par un astérisque (*) doivent être obligatoirement remplis. A défaut, vous ne pourrez pas recevoir nos communications commerciales.
Vous disposez d’un droit d’accès, de rectification, d’effacement et de limitation concernant le traitement de vos données personnelles ainsi que du droit de définir des directives relatives au sort de vos données après votre décès et du droit à la portabilité de vos données personnelles.
Vous pouvez également vous opposer au traitement des données vous concernant et retirer votre consentement à tout moment en vous adressant à l’adresse privacy@apc.fr.
Vous avez la possibilité d’introduire une réclamation auprès de l’autorité de contrôle compétente, en France, la CNIL.

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter notre politique de confidentialité.

Pays de livraison : pour vous offrir la meilleur expérience sur notre site, confirmez ou modifiez votre pays de livraison

* Champs obligatoires

  • Paiement sécurisé
  • Livraison offerte à partir de 80 €
  • Retours et échanges toujours gratuits